10 Things I Wish I’d Done In Preparation For Ministry…

Some of these posts will be long form, others will be short, or a list like this one.

I’ve been in the ministry now for almost a decade, and in that time there are a few things I wish I’d done differently.  This is by no means an exhaustive list of all those things, but it is a practical list for anyone currently considering the ministry.  As I look over the list, it occurs to me that many of the things on it are things I didn’t really consider “ministry” related (learning about accounting, leadership and organization, etc.), but now know are indispensable in order to successfully lead people.  Most of these are pretty self-explanatory.

10 Things I Wish I’d Done In Preparation For Ministry…

  1. Taken a basic accounting class.
  2. Taken a class in leadership and organization.
  3. Been more intentional about establishing “professional” relationships and contacts.
  4. Learned to say “I don’t know.”
  5. Learned to love people, not their potential.
  6. Gotten over myself.
  7. Read more books.
  8. Learned to say “no,” and “I disagree” with grace and mercy.
  9. Taken guitar lessons.
  10. Gotten my undergraduate degree in something I could use to supplement my ministry salary.
Leave a Reply

